Languages

Languages

Online General Language Learning

About.com – Spanish portal – http://spanish.about.com/

Anki (Create online language learning flashcards) – http://ankisrs.net/index.html
Asia Options – Learning Hindi Online – http://www.asiaoptions.org/guide-learning-hindi-online/
Babbel (Language learning app and online learning – Free and paid) – http://www.babbel.com/
– Magazine – https://www.babbel.com/en/magazine/
BBC Languages – http://www.bbc.co.uk/languages/

Bilingual Stories (Language promotion and coaching) – http://bilingualstories.com.au/
Busuu – http://www.busuu.com/
Duolingo – https://www.duolingo.com/
– Duolingo for schools – https://schools.duolingo.com/
– Duolingo clubs

Drops – Language learning – http://www.languagedrops.com/

Esperanto (Known as a second global language) – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Esperanto
Find fluency – http://findfluency.com/
Fluent in three months – blog – http://www.fluentin3months.com/post-list/
– Pareto method – http://www.fluentin3months.com/80-20-rule/
– Language hacking by benny (teach your self guides) language. – http://www.teachyourself.com/languagehacking/ and http://languagehacking.com/ and https://www.italki.com/languagehacking

FluentU (Online Language Learning) – http://www.fluentu.com/
Fluenz (Online lanuage tools for immigrants) – http://fluenz.org/
Forvo (Language word pronounciation tool) – http://forvo.com/
HI Native (Language app – Linked with Lang8) – https://hinative.com/
Irregular endings (Language flashcards and resources shop) – http://www.irregularendings.com.au/
Italki (Online language 1-1 teaching) – http://www.italki.com/ and (Language tips) http://www.italki.com/articles
I will teach you a language – http://www.iwillteachyoualanguage.com/
Japanese Test 4 You – http://www.japanesetest4you.com/
Jisho – Japan characters – http://jisho.org/
Lang 8 (Online language writing correction) – http://lang-8.com/

Latin Dictionary – http://latin-dictionary.net/

Lingq (Online language learning community) – http://www.lingq.com/
Linguee (Language Dictionary) – http://www.linguee.com/
Linguistics Roadshow – Australian Liguistics website – http://lingroadshow.com/
Lingvo (European Language and linguistics portal sponsored by the EU) – http://lingvo.info/en
Living Language (Online language learning systems and online classes / series) – http://www.livinglanguage.com
Mango Languages – http://libraries.mangolanguages.com/dashboard

Memrise (Online language learning) – http://www.memrise.com/ and https://www.facebook.com/memrise
Mimic Method (Free and paid online language pronounciation learning) – https://www.mimicmethod.com/
My Language portal – http://www.mylanguage.gov.au

Nations online – language portal – http://www.nationsonline.org/oneworld/languages.htm
NHK World (Japanese radio and TV) – Language – https://www.nhk.or.jp/lesson/english/
Omnigot – (Encyclopedia of language systems and learning) – http://www.omniglot.com/index.htm

Open culture – Free language lessons – http://www.openculture.com/freelanguagelessons

Readlang (Online website learning tool – translates various English words into chosen language) – http://readlang.com/
Skilled up – Foreign Languages (Online Free and Paid language learning) – http://www.skilledup.com/topics/foreign-language/
Spanish Pod 101 – http://www.spanishpod101.com/

Tofugu (Japanese Language and Culture Guides) – http://www.tofugu.com/guides/ AND http://www.tofugu.com/learn-japanese/ and facebook – https://facebook.com/TofuguBlog/

Tofugu – Japanese learning resources – https://www.tofugu.com/japanese/japanese-learning-resources-march-2017/
Tofugu – Learn hiragana – https://www.tofugu.com/japanese/learn-hiragana/

Verbal Planet (Online paid language learning and tutors) – http://www.verbalplanet.com/
Verbling (Online language courses) – https://www.verbling.com/
WaniKani (Kanji Japanese Learning) – https://www.wanikani.com/

Wasabi japanese learn – https://www.wasabi-jpn.com

**** Wikipedia – Languages (Portal) – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Language and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portal:Language

Wikipedia – Languages by Continent – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Languages_by_continent

Wikipedia – Countries and languages list – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Template:Countries_and_languages_lists

Wikipedia – List of languages by number of countries in which they are recognised as an official language – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_languages_by_the_number_of_countries_in_which_they_are_recognized_as_an_official_language

Wikipedia – List of languages by number of native speakers – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_languages_by_number_of_native_speakers
Wikipedia – World language – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_language
Wikipedia – Lists of Languages (includes by Region) – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lists_of_languages
Wikipedia – List of official languages by country and territory – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_official_languages_by_country_and_territory
Wikitravel – Foreign Language Dictionaries (Portal and Index of free language guides) – http://wikitravel.org/en/Foreign_language_dictionaries
Wikitravel – Talk – http://wikitravel.org/en/Talk

World Nomads (Languages) – http://journals.worldn
Wikipedia – Languages of the European Union – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Languages_of_the_European_Union

Wikipedia – List of Latin phrases – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Latin_phrases

Wikipedia – List of countries by spoken languages –
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_spoken_languages

Wikipedia – Languages of the European Union – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Languages_of_the_European_Union

Wikipedia – Languages by Continent – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Languages_by_continent

* World Standards – World language alphabets used – http://www.worldstandards.eu/other/alphabets/
Yabla (Language learning videos – Spanish, French, German, Italian, Chinese English) – https://www.yabla.com/

Notable languages (By World Region)

Ovreall
Esperanto
Latin

Africa

Americas (North, Central, South) and Caribbean
American Indian languages
Portuguese
Quecha
Spanish

Asia (Subcontinent, South East, North)
Burmese
Chinese – Cantonese
Chinese – Mandarin
Indonesian
Japanese
Khmer
Korean
Laotian
Malaysian
Thai
Vietnamese

Europe
Basque
Catalan
Croatian
Czech
Danish
Dutch
English
Finnish
French
Gaelic (Irish)
German
Greek
Hungarian
Italian
Maltese
Norwegian
Polish
Portuguese
Romanian
Slovak
Slovenian
Spanish
Swedish
Turkish
Welsh

Middle East and Central Asia
Arabic

Pacific / Oceania
Aboriginal Australia
Maori
Pacific island languages

Language practice techniques
– Listen to radio
– Read newspapers / publications
– Attend language meet ups
– Language books and self guided programmes
– Online language resource websites
– Electronic apps
– Practice with a friend / colleague / family
– Travel to the country
– University language club

Language Translation Services / Apps / Organisations / Online

** Australian Translating services – https://www.tisnational.gov.au/
Australasian Universities Language and Literature Association (AULLA) – http://aulla.com.au/
Community Languages Australia – http://www.communitylanguagesaustralia.org.au/

Do talk – Translation app – https://dotalk.com/

Google Translate – http://translate.google.com/

Wordlens (Photographic language translation) – https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.questvisual.wordlens.demo&hl=en
– Wordmap (Global visual word mapping by Google) – http://wordmap.co/

* Langscape (Global visual mapping of world Languages) – http://langscape.umd.edu/map.php

Mili (Language translation device) – http://www.iamili.com
Modern language teachers association of victoria – http://www.mltav.asn.au/

National accreditation authority for translators and interpreters Australia – http://www.naati.com.au/
SBS Language Radio Portal – http://www.sbs.com.au/yourlanguage/
SBS – Your language (Individual language portals) – http://www.sbs.com.au/yourlanguage/
SBS Language Translation Services – http://www.sbs.com.au/inlanguage/
Victorian Government – Language Learning Portal (School age resources) – http://www.education.vic.gov.au/languagesonline/

Victorian Interpreting & Translating Service – http://www.vits.com.au/

Victorian association for teachers of Spanish – http://vatsteachersofspanish.com/

International language and culture official national organisations:

– Includes specific cultural and language schools as part of the foreign nations government and promotion.
English – British Council – https://www.britishcouncil.org/

French – Alliance France – Melbourne French courses –
http://www.afmelbourne.com.au/french-courses-learn-french/

Italian – Centre for Italian studies (Melbourne) – http://www.italianstudies.com.au/

Spanish – Cervantes Spanish language institute – http://www.cervantes.es/
Cervantes Institute (Official Spanish Government Language Organisation – Online and in person language learning) – Sydney – http://sidney.cervantes.es/en/

Japanese – Japan Foundation – Sydney – http://www.jpf.org.au/

German – Goethe Institut – German language learning Melbourne – http://www.goethe.de/australia

Swedish – Sweden Abroad – http://www.swedenabroad.com/en-GB/Embassies/Canberra/Contact/Study-Swedish-in-Australia–New-Zealand/
– Online – http://learningswedish.se/courses/1

Face-to-Face Language Learning / Language Schools

Cactus Language (Language classes – worldwide portal) – http://www.cactuslanguage.com/en/

CAE Language Courses – Melbourne – http://www.cae.edu.au/languages/

COASIT – Italian learning and culture Melbourne – http://www.coasit.com.au/
Conversation Exchange (Language meetups) – http://www.conversationexchange.com/
El Patio Spanish (Melbourne CBD and Northcote – face to face learning) – http://www.elpatiospanish.com.au/
Farolito Spanish School – South Yarra – http://farolitospanish.com/

Fluent fast Language meetups Melbourne – https://www.facebook.com/FluentFastMelbourne/
French Journey (French language learning) – http://www.frenchjourney.com.au/

In Language Boutique Melbourne (Face to face Learning) – http://www.inlanguageboutique.com.au/
Japan Easy Mebourne (Face to face learning) – http://japaneasy.com.au/

Japanese Melbourne Language School (Face to face learning) – http://www.japanesemelbourne.com.au/
JIC Language School Melbourne (Japanese Language Face to face and cultural courses) – http://www.jic.com.au/

Language Connection (Language meetups in Melbourne) – http://www.languageconnection.org.au/
Lapont French language cenre – http://lapont.com/
Lingos Melbourne – Language meetups – http://www.lingos.com.au/

Lyceum Language School – https://www.lyceum.com.au/
Meetup (Language Meetups) – http://www.meetup.com/
* Mundo Lingo (Language Meet ups – sponsored by Trip advisor) – http://mundolingo.org/melbourne and (Facebook) https://www.facebook.com/MundoLingoAU
Spanish Cat (The) – (Melbourne – face to face learning) – http://www.thespanishcat.com/learn/index.php/our-schools

STA Travel – Overseas language courses – http://www.statravel.com.au/language-courses.htm
University / Vocational education providers
– Includes language clubs, culture clubs, learning and more.

University of Melbourne – http://arts.unimelb.edu.au/soll/students/language-exchange-club

Victorian School of Language (Prep to Year 12) – http://www.vsl.vic.edu.au/

Vocational language learning centre (Melbourne CBD) – http://www.vllc.com.au/
We do Spanish – http://wedospanish.com/

Language Learning Publications and Bookshops:

*Refer to the Travel Publications page* under the header of “Language Learning Publications and language specific bookshops”.

Sign Language (including Auslan) for communication with the deaf or hearing impaired community

Auslan – Australian sign language organisation http://www.auslan.org.au/
Melbourne Polytechnic – Auslan Sign language training – http://www.melbournepolytechnic.edu.au/study-areas/child-care-education-teaching/auslan-training/
Sign Planet – Portal to international systems of sign language – http://www.signplanet.net/

Vicdeaf – (Auslan sign language Classes in Victoria, Australia and other resources) – http://www.vicdeaf.com.au/auslan

Braille / Touch communication – for communication with the blind or sight impaired community